What are you looking for?

Announcing the NIAS Research Group 2018/19

Announcing the NIAS Fellows of 2022/23

The NIAS fellows year group 2022/23 includes 56 scholars, writers and artists. They come together at NIAS to pursue their projects in an interdisciplinary, collaborative, slow-science environment.

These fellows will become members of a community of independent thinkers, where time and space are created for them to be able to ask new questions beyond existing disciplinary boundaries and explore new possibilities within their own practice.

NIAS Fellows are selected through a competitive external review process on the basis of the quality of submitted research proposals. Creating a diverse year group is also an important guideline as part of the selection procedure. In addition to individual fellowships, there are also fellowships offered in collaboration with partners such as Instituut Gak, Lorentz Center, L’Oréal-UNESCO, Fonds Bijzondere Journalistieke Projecten, Gemeente Amsterdam, KITLV, NIOO, Wageningen University, NIDI, Akademie van Kunsten and the Netherlands Foundation for Literature.

Selected fellows are offered a working space, accommodation, daily shared lunch, and the opportunity to present and discuss their work-in-progress to receive constructive group feedback in weekly seminars. NIAS is very happy that for the year group 2022/23 it once again expects to welcome the majority of fellows in person on location at the institute in the heart of Amsterdam.

List of Fellows 2022/23

Theme Groups

NIAS Theme Group “Political Theories of Involuntary Servitude within Europe (1600-1850)


NIAS-Lorentz Theme Group “Social Media for Digital Democracy: Theory, Applications, Algorithms


NIOO-KITLV-NIAS Theme Group “Climate Change and the Governance of Tropical Marine Conservation

About NIAS

The Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study is an intellectual haven for international researchers, writers, journalists and artists to pursue their research or projects, to work in an interdisciplinary environment and to share their knowledge with society.

It offers a diverse year-group of about 50 NIAS Fellows the opportunity to devote themselves to an independent research project. NIAS is the oldest Institute for Advanced Study in Europe whose founding mission is to foster curiosity-driven research. It is an institute of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and is located in Amsterdam.