What are you looking for?

Announcing the NIAS Research Group 2018/19

Announcing the NIAS Fellows 2018/19

The NIAS year group 2018/19 includes forty fellows from over fourteen countries. Renowned and talented scholars will be joined by writers, a journalist and an artist to create a collaborative, inspiring and interdisciplinary community.

“As is customary, the year group is formed of individual fellows and theme group fellows who work in our historical St Joris building in Amsterdam,” says Director Jan Willem Duyvendak. “We strive for an open academic climate that provides a safe-haven for independent curiosity-driven research in the hope that many exciting interdisciplinary exchanges will occur and that fellows’ research will benefit and flourish.”


Fellows 2018/19

Ghayath AlmadhounPoetry
Samy Ayoub The University of Texas at Austin - Law
Sven BeckertHarvard University - History
Huw BennettCardiff University - Strategic Studies
Ulbe BosmaIISH - Economic History
Thijs Brocades ZaalbergNIMH - Military History
Stephen Brown UUniversity of Ottawa - Political Science
Rosalind Brown-GrantUniversity of Leeds - Literature
Christopher ColvinQueen's University Belfast - Economic History
Antonio DonatoQueens College, CUNY - Philosophy
Oleksandr FisunV.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University - Political Science
Maartje van Gelder University of Amsterdam - History
Hélène GelènsPoetry/Prose
Helmer HelmersUniversity of Amsterdam - History
Corinne HofmanLeiden University - Archaeology
Franca van Hooren University of Amsterdam - Political Science
Bas JacobsErasmus University Rotterdam - Economics
Philip JonesUniversity of Adelaide - History
Fabian KrämerLudwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich - History
Sandra Kuntz-Ficker El Colegio de México - Economic History
Lucian LeusteanAston University, Birmingham - Political Science
Brian McAllister LinnTexas A&M University - American History
Aidan McGarryUniversity of Brighton - Politics
Kathryn RudyUniversity of St Andrews - Book History
Joop Schippers Utrecht University - Labour Economics
Mindi SchneiderErasmus University Rotterdam - Sociology
Verena SchulzLudwig-Maximilians-Universität München - Latin Philology
Hsueh-man ShenNew York University - Archaeology
Anneke SmelikRadboud University Nijmegen - Cultural Studies
Eus van SomerenNetherlands Institute for Neuroscience - Neuroscience
Sonja SwansonErasmus University Rotterdam - Epidemiology
King-fai TamThe Hong Kong Polytechnic University - Cultural Studies
Martin Thomas University of Exeter - History
Eric VanhauteGhent University - History
Sarah VenemaUitgeverij Querido Fosfor - Journalism
Hilde de Weerdt Leiden University - History
Hanneke WigmanUniversity Medical Center Groningen - Psychiatry
Marleen de WitteUniversity of Amsterdam - Cultural Anthropology
Natascha van der Zwan Leiden University - Political Science

This list will be updated and completed over the summer when the individual pages of this year’s fellows will be published as well.

Yes No