What are you looking for?


Some Institutes for Advanced Study (SIAS)


NIAS is a proud member of two international networks with sister Institutes for Advanced Study, one of which is SIAS.

The Some Institutes for Advanced Study (SIAS) consortium organizes ten “institutes for advanced study”. The members are:

  • Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey
  • Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences in Stanford, California
  • National Humanities Center in North Carolina
  • Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study in Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study in Amsterdam, the Netherlands
  • Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study in Uppsala, Sweden
  • Berlin Institute for Advanced Study in Berlin, Germany
  • Israel Institute for Advanced Studies in Jerusalem, Israel
  • Nantes Institute for Advanced Study Foundation in Nantes, France
  • Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study, Stellenbosch, South Africa


SIAS members were founded explicitly to follow the Princeton model (with certain variations – not all maintain a permanent faculty, for instance), and place an emphasis on granting one-year fellowships. The SIAS consortium has stated several conditions any candidate institution should fulfill in order to be accepted as a new member:

  • “It should be a true place for advanced study in terms of a commitment to the highest standards of scholarship”,
  • “It must offer a genuine and competitive fellowship programme – and, one may add, a programme where each individual candidate is subjected to a thorough assessment, not just accepted as part of a thematic group of scholars or selected by the convener of such a group”,
  • “Its funding should be stable enough to ensure that it will continue to operate into the foreseeable future”, and
  • “The institution should be part of the academic system but be independent and not be narrowly directed by any single university, or by any commercial enterprise or government department”.