What are you looking for?

Open Call for NIAS Fellowship Applications 2014/15

The Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities and Social Sciences (NIAS) is now opening the annual call for fellowship applications. This is an opportunity for those who wish to spend a period of time during the academic year 2014/15 to conduct research as a part of the NIAS community.

A NIAS fellowship offers time to think and write as well as providing space to generate ideas and engage in cross-disciplinary collaboration with colleagues from around the world. We invite scholars from the humanities, the social sciences, and those working at the interface with other disciplines.



NIAS Fellows are selected from prominent researchers who have already made a contribution to their field. At least 3 years of post-Ph.D. degree academic experience is a prerequisite for eligibility. The fellowships can be applied for by scholars, both from the Dutch academia as well as from universities abroad.

Preference is given to applicants who propose an interdisciplinary project, and applicants with projects that are associated with an externally funded project. We especially welcome projects that are related to one of our three focus areas: Cultural Heritage & Computational Humanities, Brain & Cognition and Global Society & Identity.


Individual and Theme-Group Fellowships

There are two kinds of fellowships that can be applied for: Individual fellowships and Theme-Group fellowships. An individual fellowship is for scholars working on their own specific project. Theme-Group fellowships are for groups of up to six scholars, half from the Netherlands, the other half from other countries. Theme Group members work both individually and as a team on a clearly defined research topic with the aim of producing concrete products such as books, papers or a conference. Theme-Group fellowships offer a setting for researchers from different disciplines, departments, universities and continents to work together for a sustained period of time.

About NIAS

NIAS offers residential fellowships of three to ten months to individuals and groups of researchers and hosts small international workshops and debates. Through its fellowships and workshop subsidy programme, NIAS functions as a meeting place for scholars and innovative groups. NIAS is member of two international networks of sister Institutes for Advanced Study, including Berlin, Uppsala, Princeton and Harvard and has been an institute of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) since 1988. NIAS was founded in 1970 and is located in Wassenaar.


Application Deadlines

NIAS Individual Fellowships for non-Dutch scholars 2014/15: 1 April 2013
NIAS Theme-Group Fellowships 2014/15: 1 April 2013
NIAS Individual Fellowships for Dutch scholars 2014/15: 15 August 2013

More information

About individual fellowships: qualifications and evaluation criteria, including the application form
About individual fellowships: application procedure
About Theme-Group fellowships: qualifications, procedure and evaluation criteria

For further questions, please check our Frequently Asked Questions or contact Jos Hooghuis, Senior Officer Research Planning & Communication.