What are you looking for?

The Willem F. Duisenberg Fellowship Foundation 1

Open Call for Duisenberg Fellowship

NIAS and the Duisenberg Foundation invite economists to apply for a fellowship in 2024/25. This fellowship allows one to fully focus on a research project while being a member of the interdisciplinary community of an institute for advanced study. Set up in honour of Wim Duisenberg, this fellowship fosters research in the fields that he championed: applied monetary economics, macroeconomics, macroeconomic policy, public finance and public finance policy.

The Duisenberg Fellowship

The Willem F. Duisenberg Fellowship offers researchers an opportunity to pursue their own research project (e.g. monograph, grant proposal, popular-scientific publication) as a member of the NIAS interdisciplinary community. They have the opportunity to meet with Dutch academics, policy makers and representatives of financial institutions.

From 2007 until 2022 the Willem F. Duisenberg Fellowship was an invitational fellowship for researchers with an outstanding record. As part of NIAS’ and the Duisenberg Foundation’s efforts to strive for a more inclusive academia, this fellowship now also has an open call. As of 2023, economists with more than 3 years of post-Ph.D. academic experience may apply through the open call of NIAS Individual Fellowships.

Previous Duisenberg Fellows include Bas Jacobs, Michael Burda and Tito Boeri.


Fellows are provided with an office, research facilities, lunch, participation in the NIAS community and daily commuting travel expenses or subsidised accommodation in Amsterdam. Fellows receive a stipend of 2.500 euro per month, or in the case of fellows with an affiliation to a Dutch university – a Dutch University Grant of 2.500 euro per month (paid directly to the university).

For the Duisenberg Fellowship, the same (eligibility) criteria and conditions apply as for the individual fellowships at NIAS. Both scholars from the Netherlands and abroad can apply for 5 or 10 months in the academic year 2024/25. Submission deadline via the online application form is 15 March 2023.

The Willem F. Duisenberg Fellowship Foundation

The Willem F. Duisenberg Fellowship Foundation was set up in 2007 in honour of Willem F. Duisenberg. The Foundation is sponsored by De Nederlandsche Bank, the Dutch Ministry of Finance and several major Dutch financial institutions: the ING Group, Rabobank Nederland, ABN-AMRO and AEGON.

About NIAS

The Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study is an intellectual haven for international researchers, writers, journalists and artists to pursue their research or projects, to work in an interdisciplinary environment and to share their knowledge with society.

It offers a diverse year-group of about 50 NIAS Fellows the opportunity to devote themselves to an independent research project. NIAS is the oldest Institute for Advanced Study in Europe whose founding mission is to foster curiosity-driven research. It is an institute of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and is located in Amsterdam.