What are you looking for?

New: NIAS' Willem F. Duisenberg Fellowship Prize for Outstanding Young Economists

The Willem F. Duisenberg Foundation, NIAS, and the Duisenberg School in Finance introduce a new prize, aimed at fostering excellence in applied policy research. Candidates may be nominated until 18 November 2013.


About the Prize

The Willem F. Duisenberg Fellowship Prize is awarded to outstanding young scholars in the area of applied monetary economics, applied macroeconomics, financial stability or public finance.

The prize is awarded biennially by the WFD Foundation in partnership with the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities and Social Sciences (NIAS) – and with the Duisenberg School of Finance (DSF). The award consists of a monetary reward of €15.000 and a medal. The winner is also offered facilities and funding for a one-day workshop at NIAS that brings together relevant parties to explore a current issue in one of the above named areas of economics.

The WFDF is sponsored by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB), Dutch Ministry of Finance, ABN AMRO, AEGON, ING Group, and Rabobank Nederland.

The Prize aims to foster excellence in applied policy research in the Netherlands and is open to economists working in the Netherlands as well as Dutch economists working abroad. The criteria for the selection are: exceptional creativity, significant accomplishment in applied policy research (monetary economics, applied macroeconomics, financial stability or public finance) and promise for important future advances.


How the Willem F. Duisenberg Fellowship Prize Winner is Chosen

The WFDF Prize honours the distinguished career of Willem F. Duisenberg in policy and academia both at the national and international level. Therefore, Deans, Professors and Heads of Department at universities or (inter)national policy institutions are invited to submit nominations for the prize winner.

Nominators may propose up to three candidates and should send the nominee’s CV (containing relevant academic publications, contributions to Policy reports, publications in the media) together with a reference letter to support the nominations. Nominees should have a PhD and be under the age of forty.

Deadline for submissions to nomination@nias.knaw.nl is Monday 18 November 2013. 

Nominations are assessed by the WFDF Jury consisting of the President of De Nederlandsche Bank, Klaas Knot (Chair); the Treasurer General of the Ministry of Finance, Hans Vijlbrief; the former President of De Nederlandsche Bank, Nout Wellink; the Dean of the Duisenberg School of Finance, Dirk Schoenmaker; and the Chairman of the Willem F. Duisenberg Fellowship Foundation, Victor Halberstadt.



The Award will be granted at a special ceremony in Amsterdam at De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) to which the top three nominees will be invited. The Jury Chair will read out the Report announcing the winner of Willem F. Duisenberg Fellowship Prize. The winner will be given the opportunity to present a short talk on what in her/his opinion is the main policy priority. The winner will attend a celebratory dinner.

For questions about submitting WFDF-Prize nominations please contact Petry Kievit-Tyson.