

Minutes - Extraordinary General Assembly of Members of the NIAS Fellows Association

Netherlands Institute

for Advanced Study in the Humanities

and Social Sciences

Friday 21 February, 3-4 PM (CET), online (Microsoft Teams)

Attendees:

René Biemans (NIAS staff support member) Roxane Farmanfarmaian (board member) Emmanuel Albert Berger (board member) Hoye, J.M. (Matthew) (candidate for the board) Maria Arche (candidate for the board) Aysenur Korkmaz (candidate for the board) Cienki, A.J. (Alan) Letizia Chiappini Fedchyshyn, Dmytro Marc Frev **Nicolas** Trepanier Ioe Bauman Tetiana Gardashuk Josep Quer Spinhoven, Philip Jennings, J. Richard Franjo Weissing Theo Kuipers Arvydas Guogis

Agenda:

- 1. Appointment of chair and secretary of the Meeting
- 2. Opening of the Meeting
- 3. Establishment of attendees present or represented at the Meeting
- 4. Appointment of the new chair of the board: candidate Ayşenur Korkmaz (voting item)
- 5. Appointment of the new secretary of the board: candidate Matthew Hoye (voting item)
- 6. Appointment of new board member: candidate María J. Arche (voting item)
- 7. Closing words

1. Appointment of chair and secretary of the Meeting

- Chair: Roxane Farmanfarmaian
- Secretary: René Biemans

2. Opening of the meeting

The chair (Roxane) opens the meeting by welcoming all attending members, and by giving an overview of the meeting's agenda. She mentions the meeting will be recorded.

3. Establishment of attendees present or represented at the meeting.



The secretary (René) establishes that all attendees are current NFA members.

Roxane explains the voting method for all voting items:

- Camera ON = Yes
- Camera OFF = No

Roxane invites all three candidates to introduce them to the attending members. First Ayşenur Korkmaz, then Matthew Hoye, lastly María Arche. Before the Roxane proceeds with the voting items she asks all three candidates to leave the meeting until after completion of the voting.

Roxane asks the attending members if anyone has questions or remarks. Tetiana Gardashuk raised her hand. Tetiana states that she gives her full support to Ayşenur Korkmaz's candidacy for chair of the NFA Board.

4. Appointment of the new chair of the board: candidate Ayşenur Korkmaz (voting item)

Roxane asks all attendees to vote. Ayşenur is elected unanimously. Roxane moves on to the next voting item.

5. Appointment of the new secretary of the board: candidate Matthew Hoye (voting item)

Roxane asks all attendees to vote. Matthew is elected unanimously. Roxane moves on to the next voting item.

6. Appointment of new board member: candidate María J. Arche (voting item)

Roxane asks all attendees to vote. María is elected unanimously.

Roxane thanks all attendees for their unanimous support of all three candidates, and asks the secretary (René) to invite the three candidates back. All three return to the meeting after being invited to do so by René.

7. Closing words

Roxane conveys the good news to the three candidates and asks Ayşenur, as new chair of the NFA Board, to speak to all members attending. Ayşenur thanks all attendees and the two other new board members. She announces that this year's annual NFA Day (general assembly + Uhlenbeck lecture) will take place on Wednesday 18 June, and that all members will receive an invitation in May. Ayşenur also announces that applications for a Summer Stays at NIAS are now open on the website of NIAS, and that all members will receive the above-mentioned information by newsletter in early March.

Roxane ends the meeting by thanking all attendees. The meeting is adjourned.