What are you looking for?

Announcing the NIAS Research Group 2018/19

Announcing the NIAS Research Group 2018/19

The NIAS research group 2018/19 includes forty fellows from over fourteen countries. Renowned and talented scholars will be joined by writers, a journalist and an artist to create a collaborative, inspiring and interdisciplinary community.

“As is customary, the year-group is formed of individual fellows and theme-group fellows who work in our historical St Joris building in Amsterdam,” says Director Jan Willem Duyvendak. “We strive for an open academic climate that provides a safe-haven for independent curiosity-driven research in the hope that many exciting interdisciplinary exchanges will occur and that fellows’ research will benefit and flourish.”


Members of the Research Group 2018/19

Ghayath AlmadhounPoetry
Samy Ayoub The University of Texas at Austin - Law
Sven BeckertHarvard University - History
Huw BennettCardiff University - Strategic Studies
Ulbe BosmaIISH - Economic History
Thijs Brocades ZaalbergNIMH - Military History
Stephen Brown UUniversity of Ottawa - Political Science
Rosalind Brown-GrantUniversity of Leeds - Literature
Christopher ColvinQueen's University Belfast - Economic History
Antonio DonatoQueens College, CUNY - Philosophy
Oleksandr FisunV.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University - Political Science
Maartje van Gelder University of Amsterdam - History
Hélène GelènsPoetry/Prose
Helmer HelmersUniversity of Amsterdam - History
Corinne HofmanLeiden University - Archaeology
Franca van Hooren University of Amsterdam - Political Science
Bas JacobsErasmus University Rotterdam - Economics
Philip JonesUniversity of Adelaide - History
Fabian KrämerLudwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich - History
Sandra Kuntz-Ficker El Colegio de México - Economic History
Lucian LeusteanAston University, Birmingham - Political Science
Brian McAllister LinnTexas A&M University - American History
Aidan McGarryUniversity of Brighton - Politics
Kathryn RudyUniversity of St Andrews - Book History
Joop Schippers Utrecht University - Labour Economics
Mindi SchneiderErasmus University Rotterdam - Sociology
Verena SchulzLudwig-Maximilians-Universität München - Latin Philology
Hsueh-man ShenNew York University - Archaeology
Anneke SmelikRadboud University Nijmegen - Cultural Studies
Eus van SomerenNetherlands Institute for Neuroscience - Neuroscience
Sonja SwansonErasmus University Rotterdam - Epidemiology
King-fai TamThe Hong Kong Polytechnic University - Cultural Studies
Martin Thomas University of Exeter - History
Eric VanhauteGhent University - History
Sarah VenemaUitgeverij Querido Fosfor - Journalism
Hilde de Weerdt Leiden University - History
Hanneke WigmanUniversity Medical Center Groningen - Psychiatry
Marleen de WitteUniversity of Amsterdam - Cultural Anthropology
Natascha van der Zwan Leiden University - Political Science

This list will be updated and completed over the summer. when the individual pages of this year’s fellows will be published as well.

Yes No