Ga direct naar de inhoud
Ga direct naar de site navigatie
Ga direct naar zoeken

by Marcel Möring


In 2013/14, novelist Marcel Möring resided at NIAS to finish the last stages of the novel ‘Eden', the last part of a trilogy, set in a small town in the north of the Netherlands. 'Eden' brings together all the themes of Möring’s work: futile memory, madness and chaos. It was published in January 2017 by De Bezige Bij.

About the Book

Eden is the story of a nameless child who grows up in a forest so vast and sprawling that he has no knowledge of the world beyond it. The reader watches as he flees one day from an act he did not commit. In a psychiatric hospital a patient commits suicide. Another patient, found as if dead in city woodland, no longer knows who he is. And there is the mysterious Stephanie, too, who on the face of it has nothing wrong with her. Psychiatrist Mendel Adenauer sees his institution as the place where society’s driftwood washes up and he wonders whether he is right to think that people and the world can be healed.


‘Moral, eclectic, compelling novel with a historic focus reaching back to the Middle Ages.’ – Trouw

 Eden is the most stimulating on the most abstract level […] Everything has a function in Marcel Möring’s new book.’ – NRC Handelsblad

‘Eden is a […] rich tale of identity and a search for a home.’ **** – AD Magazine

‘It is a book full of puzzles, but compelling from the first page to the last.’  **** – Leidsch Dagblad

‘Though his novels bear unmistakable, post-modern markings in style, be it a graphic novel segment inserted between (in Dis), or sentences fashioned into the form of a tree (in Eden), while reading you maintain this picture in your head of a writer trekking across the pages, an actual, massive burlap sack slung over his shoulder containing just about the entire cultural history of Europe.’ – De Groene Amsterdammer

About Marcel Möring

Marcel Moring.jpgMarcel Möring was born in 1957 in Enschede. His work has been widely translated and won numerous prizes. His first novel, Mendel (1990), was an instant success, winning the Geertjan Lubberhuizen Prize for Best Debut. The Great Longing (1992), which soon followed, won the country’s most prestigious prize, the AKO, while In Babylon (1997), won two Golden Owl Prizes, an award for the best Dutch language book of 1998, and In a Dark Wood (2006) won the Bordewijk Prize for the best Dutch novel. His latest novel, Eden, was published in January to critical acclaim. Möring was writer-in-residence in 2013/14.


Ga terug naar de bovenkant van deze pagina
Ga terug naar de inhoud
Ga terug naar de site navigatie
Ga terug naar zoeken