Ga direct naar de inhoud
Ga direct naar de site navigatie
Ga direct naar zoeken

Distinguished Lorentz Fellow Award Ceremony 2017

When 26 September 2017 from 16:00 to 18:30 hrs
Where VOC Room, Bushuis, University of Amsterdam
Add event to calendar iCal vCal

Franjo Weissing will be awarded the Distinguished Lorentz Fellowship 2017/18 in a prize ceremony on 26 September 2017. Weissing, Professor of Theoretical Biology from the University of Groningen, receives the Fellowship for his research on cultural evolution. 

Programme to be announced

Franjo Weissing

Prof.dr. Franjo Weissing has a distinct interdisciplinary profile. He graduated in Mathematics with minors in Biology, Physics, Economics, and Psychology. Weissing wrote his PhD thesis in the area of evolutionary game theory, under supervision of the economist (and later Nobel laureate) Reinhard Selten. At the Centre of Interdisciplinary Research of the University of Bielefeld, Weissing wrote his first publications together with the political scientist (and later Nobel laureate) Elinor Ostrom. Since 1989 he has been at the University of Groningen and is currently Full Professor of Theoretical Biology and Founding Director of Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Course Evolutionary Biology (MEME). Weissing has published many multi-disciplinary papers in high-impact journals such as Science, Nature and PNAS. 

The Distinguished Lorentz Fellowship

The Distinguished Lorentz Fellowship (DLF) is awarded to a leading scientist working on research that brings together perspectives from the Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, and Technological Sciences. It was set up by the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study (NIAS-KNAW) and the Lorentz Center Leiden. The award consists of a residential fellowship at NIAS, an international workshop at the Lorentz Center and a personal prize of €10,000. The Fellowship is part of the NIAS-Lorentz Program, promoting cutting-edge interdisciplinary research. Previous DLF's include law and technology expert Bert-Jaap Koops, mathematical economist Cars Hommes, and musicologist Henkjan Honing. Franjo Weissing will receive the award from Sijbolt Noorda, Chair of the NIAS-Lorentz Advisory Board, at a ceremony in Amsterdam in late Spring 2017.

NIAS Newsletter

Ga terug naar de bovenkant van deze pagina
Ga terug naar de inhoud
Ga terug naar de site navigatie
Ga terug naar zoeken